Womens AFL Teams

Eight clubs are set to compete in the first-ever Womens AFL season for 2017, here’s the squad lists for all eight of the Women’s AFL teams.

Squad lists were finalised after the Women’s AFL draw on October 12 2016.

All teams were given two marquee players prior to the draft, and two rookies on each team list.

Here’s what the squads for each of the Women’s AFL teams for the inaugural season, which gets underway on Friday 3rd February, 2017. See the full Womens AFL Fixture list here.

2017 AFL Women's Fixtures

Adelaide Crows
Adelaide Crows
The Crows took Kellie Gibson and Chelsea Randall as their two marquee players and used a couple of priority picks to nab Courtney Cramer and Angela Foley in the Draft. Their campaign will begin against the GWS Giants in Adelaide at Thebarton Oval.

Adelaide Crows women’s squad
Kellie Gibson (marquee), Chelsea Randall (marquee), Courtney Cramey, Angela Foley, Ebony Marinoff, Heather Anderson, Jenna McCormick, Deni Varnhagen, Sally Riley, Georgia Bevan, Sophie Armitstead, Talia Radan, Rachael Killian, Rhiannon Metcalfe, Anne Hatchard, Tayla Thorn, Abbey Holmes, Stevie-Lee Thompson, Jessica Sedunary, Sarah Allan, Justine Mules, Monique Hollick, Lauren O’Shea, Sarah Perkins, Erin Phillips (rookie), Jasmine Anderson (rookie).

Coach: Bec Goddard
Home grounds: Thebarton Oval, Norwood Oval, TIO Stadium (Darwin)

Brisbane Lions
Brisbane Lions
The Lions are Queensland’s only club in the Women’s AFL competition, with the Gold Coast Suns not a part of the league in 2016. Their marquee players are Tayla Harris and Sabrina Frederick-Traub.

Brisbane Lions women’s squad
Tayla Harris (marquee), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (marquee), Emma Zielke, Kaitlyn Ashmore, Emily Bates, Tahlia Randall, Nicole Hildebrand, Leah Kaslar, Jessica Wuetschner, Alexandra Anderson, Breanna Koenen, Megan Hunt, Samantha Virgo, Kate Lutkins, Kate McCarthy, Shaleise Law, Selina Goodman, Sharni Webb, Nikki Wallace, Jamie Stanton, Jade Ransfield, Brittany Gibson, Kate Deegan (rookie), Delissa Kimmince (rookie).

Coach: Craig Starcevich
Home ground: South Pine Sports Complex

Carlton Blues
The Blues are one of four Victorian teams taking part in the first Women’s AFL season. Darcy Vescio and Brianna Davey are the side’s two marquee players.

Carlton Blues women’s squad
Darcy Vescio (marquee), Brianna Davey (marquee), Lauren Arnell, Bianca Jakobsson, Kate Gillespie-Jones, Sarah Hosking, Gabriella Pound, Danielle Hardiman, Shae Audley, Isabella Ayre, Lauren Brazzale, Breann Moody, Jess Hosking, Natalie Plane, Sarah Last, Tilly Lucas-Rodd, Katie Loynes, Madeline Keryk, Kate Darby, Alison Downie, Laura Attard, Rebecca Privitelli, Nat Exon (rookie), Kate Shielaw (rookie).

Coach: Damien Keeping
Home ground: Ikon Park

Collingwood Magpies
Collingwood Magpies Football Club logo
A slightly controversial selection for a women’s team, given the furore surrounding club president Eddie McGuire, the Magpies are another one of the four Melbournian sides. Their marquee players are Emma King and star forward Moana Hope.

Collingwood Magpies women’s squad
Moana Hope (marquee), Emma King (marquee), Meg Hutchins, Nicola Stevens, Stephanie Chiocci, Sarah D’Arcy, Brittany Bonnici, Bree White, Caitlyn Edwards, Alicia Eva, Amelia Barden, Stacey Livingstone, Jessica Cameron, Jasmine Garner, Emma Grant, Penny Cula-Reid, Lauren Tesoriero, Melissa Kuys, Cecilia McIntosh, Christina Bernardi, Ruby Schleicher, Tara Morgan, Helen Roden (rookie), Kate Sheahn (rookie).

Coach: Wayne Siekman
Home ground: Olympic Park Oval, Melbourne

Fremantle Dockers
The lone West Australian side in the competition, the Dockers made headlines by signing Australian Olympic javelin thrower Kim Mickle on a rookie deal. Their two marquee players are Kara Donnellan and Kiara Bowers.

Fremantle Dockers women’s squad
Kara Donnellan (marquee), Kiara Bowers (marquee), Kirby Bentley, Ebony Antonio, Hayley Miller, Brianna Green, Ashley Sharp, Lara Filocamo, Tiah Haynes, Kira Phillips, Tayla Bresland, Amy Lavell, Stacey Barr, Melissa Caulfield, Cassie Davidson, Taylah Angel, Belinda Smith, Stephanie Cain, Kelly Clinch, Demi Okely, Dana Hooker, Akec Makur Chuot, Kim Mickle (rookie), Gabby O’Sullivan (rookie).

Coach: Michelle Cowan
Home grounds: Domain Stadium, Fremantle Oval, Rushton Park

GWS Giants
GWS Giants AFL Football Club logo
Unlike in the men’s AFL, the Giants are the only Sydney side in the women’s competition. Renee Forth and Emma Swanson are their two marquees, and they also had the first pick in the draft, which they used to select Sydney University’s Nicola Barr.

GWS Giants women’s squad
Renee Forth (marquee), Emma Swanson (marquee), Alex Williams, Maddy Collier, Jess Dal Pos, Louise Stephenson, Phoebe McWilliams, Nicola Barr, Ashleigh Guest, Aimee Schmidt, Rebecca Beeson, Kate Stanton, Erin McKinnon, Thi Thanh Mai Nguyen, Amanda Farrugia, Jacinda Barclay, Britt Tully, Kristy De Pellegrini, Renee Tomkins, Clare Lawton, Ella Ross, Stephanie Walker, Codie Briggs, Isabella Rudolph, Hannah Wallett, Alex Saundry, Jess Bibby (rookie), Ellie Brush (rookie).

Coach: Tim Schmidt
Home grounds: Blacktown International Sportspark, Manuka Oval (Canberra)

Melbourne Demons
The third of the four Victorian clubs, the Demons were lucky enough to have superstar Daisy Pearce, the reigning women’s player of the year, as one of their two marquee players. Their other is Pearce’s Darebin Falcons teammate, Melissa Hickey.

Melbourne Demons women’s squad
Daisy Pearce (marquee), Melissa Hickey (marquee), Karen Paxman, Elise O’Dea, Deanna Berry, Richelle Cranston, Lauren Pearce, Alyssa Mifsud, Shelley Scott, Katherine Smith, Emma Humphries, Stephanie De Bortoli, Lily Mithen, Ainslie Kemp, Mia-Rae Clifford, Brooke Howells, Jessica Anderson, Madeleine Boyd, Pepa Randall, Sarah Lampard, Jasmine Grierson, Sarah Jolly, Catherine Phillips (rookie), Harriet Cordner (rookie).

Coach: Mick Stinear
Home ground: Casey Fields

Western Bulldogs
Like the Demons, the Bulldogs turned to the Darebin Falcons to bolster their marquee stocks, picking Katie Brennan as their first such player. Melbourne University’s Ellie Blackburn is the club’s other marquee.

Western Bulldogs women’s squad
Katie Brennan (marquee), Ellie Blackburn (marquee), Emma Kearney, Jamie Lambert, Aasta O’Connor, Hannah Scott, Kirsten McLeod, Kimberley Ebb, Hayley Wildes, Brooke Lochland, Bailey Hunt, Ellyse Gamble, Lauren Spark, Nicole Callinan, Lisa Williams, Lauren Morecroft, Tiarna Ernst, Kate Tyndall, Courtney Clarkson, Jess Gardner, Kirsty Lamb, Laura Bailey, Libby Birch (rookie), Romy Timmons (rookie).

Coach: Paul Groves
Home ground: VU Whitten Oval